The first fort to be erected in Port Royal, Fort Charles was built in the late 1650-60 and was originally called Fort Cromwell. It was later renamed Fort Charles. The fort underwent several changes between 1656-1670. In 1667, the fort had 36 guns and by 1765 it had 104 guns and a garrison with 500 men. The Fort was damaged by the 1692 and 1907 earthquakes and is the home of the famous Giddy House.